top of page

My pre-chiropractic experience


Hello everyone! John here. Welcome to my fellow DC2B. (Doctors of Chiropractic to be!) I'm going to tell you something about myself that perhaps some of you can relate to.

I grew up in a suburb of Chicago and a few years prior to graduating high school I tagged along with my brother to a variety of universities in and around Illinois. After seeing him graduate and head off to the University of Missouri I was ready to follow in his footsteps.

Two years later when it was my turn to apply to schools I had my heart set on a big institution and my top choice was the University of Minnesota. However, when a waitlist letter came in the mail I was forced to reconsider my future. Where would I go? Where was I going to spend the next four years?

It was a stressful time in my life. My parents and I hopped on the Internet in search of universities with Kinesiology programs. Our searches led us to western Wisconsin, to a little university I'd never heard of. Shortly after we were in the car heading to the University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire for the first time.

I never pictured myself at a small school, but there I was, and here I am three years later. UW-Eau Claire turned out to be the perfect school for me. I've made great friends, learned a lot and most importantly made strides toward my future career.

During my time at UW-Eau Claire I have been lucky to find a pre-chiropractic club to learn with. Through my time at the club I have networked with other students, built relationships with local docs, met representatives from a number of chiropractic schools and landed an internship.

I want all undergraduate students considering a career in chiropractic healthcare to have the experiences I have. However, now as the co-president of our pre-chiropractic club I know firsthand how hard it is to organize a club, lead meetings and hold fundraisers. That's where NUSCA comes in! The National Undergraduate Student Chiropractic Association is here to help! Please click the clubs tab above to get started!

Already have a club on your campus? Comment below and let me know what has worked well for you! How often does your club meet? What has been the most valuable part of being in the club? Have you created relationships with local docs? What kinds of things do you talk about at your meetings?

Johnny (in pink) and some members of UWEC's pre-chiropractic club at an office tour of Stucky Chiropractic in Eau Claire, Wisconsin.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page