top of page

Q & A w/ pre-chiropractic students


In this weeks blog, I conducted a Question & Answer with two prominent pre-chiropractic students from the University of Wisconsin- Eau Claire. They were kind enough to answer numerous questions that I thought would be beneficial to provide to all the other pre-chiro students out there. Enjoy!

Q: Do they do a poor to great job supplementing chiropractic material for pre-chiropractic students at your school?

Trevor Secraw:

A: I think that the actual school does a decent job for pre-chiro students. My advisor has answered some questions for me but the pre-chiro club has done a great job at doing most of this.

Danny Otis:

A: UWEC [as in the university as a whole] does not do a lot itself, but two solid presidents run our pre-chiro club to make sure that it happens.

Q: Do you do a lot of out of the classroom research on the profession you are choosing to pursue?

Trevor Secraw:

A: I have definitely done my fair share of researching some schools and techniques as well as the philosophies.

Danny Otis:

A: Not too much research other than talking with local docs and reading articles but no actual research.

Q: Why’d you choose chiropractic as your future profession?

Trevor Secraw:

A: When my dad threw out his back he could barely walk without hurting. Then he went to a chiropractor and within weeks he was able to run around with us and play catch again. I just want to be able to help not only the person afflicted but their family like that as well.

Danny Otis:

A: I chose chiropractic because I had a bad hockey neck and rib injuries. I started experiencing stomach problems anxiety and headaches, that medical doctors couldn’t fix or seem to find anything wrong with. Then I found chiropractic and the natural approach to healing completely turned my life around and I would like to be able to do that for people like my chiropractor did for me.

Q: What are some of your favorite things about the profession?

Trevor Secraw:

A: I love the fact that chiropractic allows the body to help strengthen and heal itself.

Danny Otis:

A: My favorite thing is the fact that we are slowly becoming the preferred choice for people to remain healthy and we are going to be the ones to change the "medical model" that we can heal people with our hands with no side effects.

Q: After understanding what chiropractic care was, how have you grown down the journey of pursuing chiropractic?

Danny Otis:

A: After understanding what chiropractic is I have grown to help people understand their own true potential that lies within and taken leadership roles on my campus to help inform others who are interested in this profession and give them the right tools to find their own path to helping people.

Q: Have you thought at all about graduate school? If so, which school(s) have you considered, and why?

Trevor Secraw:

A: I have thought about going to Life University, Life West, and Logan College of Chiropractic for grad school. I really like all of their locations and their actual curriculums as well as who the professors are.

Danny Otis:

A: I have visited one school so far and that is Life University because I like their vitalistic views and I also plan on looking at Life West because of their vitalistic views.

Q: If you’ll let us know, what are your philosophical views, (more medical, in the middle, more vitalistic)?

Trevor Secraw:

A: I'm between the middle and vitalistic, with my personal philosophical views.

Danny Otis:

A: My own views are vitalistic because I think the body truly heals from within.

Q: What is the biggest thing you wish to learn in your undergraduate education about the chiropractic profession that you haven’t yet?

Trevor Secraw:

A: I think one of the biggest things I would like to learn would be how chiropractors with masters or specializations compare to those graduating without.

Danny Otis:

A: I wish I could learn how to adjust but I have found and searched out every thing else that I have wanted to know in undergrad, now I just have to make my choice of school.

If you would like to be apart of a Q&A with me for our NUSCA blog, contact us anytime!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page